Intro Text 

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council has considered a draft Strategic Policy Committee (SPC) Scheme and has issued the draft scheme for public consultation.

We are now seeking submissions from interested parties in relation to the configuration of the draft SPC Scheme. Submissions on the draft scheme may be made to Mary T Daly, Director of Services, Corporate Communictions and Governance, County Hall, Marine Road, Dún Laoghaire, Co Dublin or by email at spc@dlrcoco.ie not later than 5.00pm, Friday the 25th October, 2019. 

The purpose of the SPCs is to advise and assist the Council in the formulation, development and review of policy in relation to functions of a strategic nature.  SPCs bring together both Elected Members and people actively working with social, community/voluntary, economic, cultural, business and environmental bodies. 



The purpose of an SPC is to formulate, develop, monitor and review policies which relate to the functions of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council and to advise the Council accordingly. Membership of the SPC comprises of elected Councillors and representatives of the following sectors:

  • Agriculture/Farming
  • Business/Commercial
  • Development/Construction
  • Environmental/Conservation/Cultural
  • Community/Voluntary/Disadvantaged
  • Trade Union

The Council's 6 SPCs are:

  • Community Development, Culture and Ageing SPC
  • Economic Development and Enterprise SPC
  • Environment, Climate Change and Energy SPC
  • Planning SPC
  • Social Housing SPC
  • Transportation and County Wide Movement SPC

Corporate Policy Group

The Corporate Policy Group (CPG) consists of the Cathaoirleach, who chairs the group, together with the Chairs of the SPCs.

The CPG co-ordinates and links the work of the various SPCs and acts as a forum where policy decisions affecting the entire Council can be agreed for recommendation to the full Council.


Community Development, Culture and Ageing SPC Chairpersons Reports

Economic Development and Enterprise SPC Chairpersons Reports

Environment Climate Change and Energy SPC Chairpersons Reports

Planning SPC Chairpersons Reports

Social Housing SPC Chairpersons Reports

Transportation and County Wide Movement SPC Chairpersons Reports


The SPC meetings take place on a quarterly basis (usually March, June, September and December)

A chairpersons report is a report that is prepared after the SPC meeting by the Chairperson to outline what matters were dealt with at the meeting. 


Chairpersons report are included on the County Council agenda for noting by Members and are then published on the Council’s website (above this page).



Minutes of each SPC meeting contains decisions made at the meeting.


They are approved by the SPC at their next meeting.  Once the minutes have been approved they are published on the Council’s website under The Council and Democracy/Council Meetings/ Meetings Agendas and Minutes 

In accordance with the provisions of the legislation and guidelines from The Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, the membership of the SPCs will consist of two thirds Councillors and one third sectoral representatives. The following shall apply in relation to the membership of SPCs

• Each Councillor will be a member of 2 SPCs;

• Every member of an SPC will hold office for the lifetime of the Council

(normally five years);

• If a Councillor member of an SPC ceases to be a Councillor he or she

will also automatically cease to be a member of an SPC;

• Each nominating sector is entitled to deselect its nominees as


• A sector may be represented on more than one SPC


(full details are available in the DLR Strategic Policy Committee Scheme 2014-2019)


Vacancies in the membership of the SPCs are a matter for approval by the Councillors.  If a Councillor vacancy arises, the Members of the Council approve and adopted the Councillor to fill the vacancy. 


If a vacancy arises from the sectoral representation, a nomination is received from the sector where the vacancy has arisen, the nomination is presented to the Members of the Council for their adoption