An Roinn Tithíochta, Pleanála agus Rialtais Áitiúil Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government



LG 03/2018

25 September 2018

Adjustments to Elected Members' Representational Payment with effect from 1 October 2018 arising from the Public Service Stability Agreement 2018-2020

Dear Chief Executive,

- 1. I am directed by the Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform to convey the following instructions to local authorities with regard to the application of adjustments to the Representational Payment of elected members in accordance with Regulation 6(3) of the *Local Government (Representational Payment for Members) Regulations 2001 (S.I. No. 552 of 2001).*
- 2. The amount of the Representational Payment will be increased by 1%, to €17,060 per annum with effect from 1 October 2018, in accordance with adjustments to the basic salary of a Senator arising from the Public Service Stability Agreement 2018-2020.
- 3. Local authorities are reminded that former elected members with the minimum amount of qualifying service who met the criteria to receive a gratuity payment between 1 July 2013 and 31 December 2017 benefited from a 'grace period' by having their gratuities calculated by reference to annual rates which disregarded FEMPI reductions made to the Representational Payment with effect from 1 July 2013. However, this 'grace period' no longer applies to the calculation of elected members' gratuities which fall due after 1 January 2018 as the FEMPI reductions from July 2013 have now been fully reversed.
- 4. Gratuities which are payable from 1 January 2018 are calculated with reference to the annual rate of the Representational Payment on the date that the gratuity becomes payable, as provided for under the *Local Authority Members (Gratuity) Regulations 2002* (S.I. No. 281 of 2002), as amended.

- 5. For convenience, the Representational Payment annual rates to be used for the calculation of gratuity payments, for both current and former local authorities, are set out in Appendix I of this circular.
- 6. A copy of this circular should be given to each elected member.
- 7. Queries regarding this circular should be addressed to Grant Couper (email: grant.couper@housing.gov.ie; phone: 01 8882826) or Gary McGuinn (email: gary.mcguinn@housing.gov.ie; phone: 01 8882800).

Yours sincerely

Gary McGuinn Assistant Principal

Local Government Oversight and Governance

sany Me Guinn

To: the Chief Executive of each local authority

Cc: the AILG and LAMA

Appendix I

Representational Payment annual rates from 1 Jan 2018 and 1 Oct 2018 for the purpose of calculating gratuities due to former members with not less than 3 years' qualifying service who meet the criteria to receive a gratuity payment, including former members of former local authorities

Current Local Authorities	Representational Payment from 1 Jan 2018 to 30 Sept 2018 (€)	Representational Payment with effect from 1 Oct 2018 (€)
County Councils, City and County Councils and City Councils	16,891	17,060
Former Local Authorities		
The former Borough Councils, and the Town Councils of Athlone, Bray, Dundalk, Ennis and Tralee	8,446	8,530
The former Town Councils of Arklow, Athy, Ballina, Ballinasloe, Birr, Buncrana, Bundoran, Carlow, Carrickmacross, Carrickon-Suir, Cashel, Castlebar, Castleblayney, Cavan, Clonakilty, Clones, Cobh, Dungarvan, Enniscorthy, Fermoy, Kells, Killarney, Kilrush, Kinsale, Letterkenny, Listowel, Longford, Macroom, Mallow, Midleton, Monaghan, Naas, Navan, Nenagh, New Ross, Skibbereen, Templemore, Thurles, Tipperary, Trim, Tullamore, Westport, Wicklow, Youghal plus Balbriggan, Droichead Nua, Greystones, Leixlip, Mullingar, Portlaoise and Shannon	4,223	4,265
The remaining former Town Councils	2,298	2,321