Smart Dublin is an initiative of the four Dublin Local Authorities, Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, South Dublin, Fingal and Dublin City, to engage with technology providers, academia and citizens to transform public services and enhance quality of life across the county.


The Smart Dublin vision is for Dublin to be a world leading, open, connected and engaged smart region to live in, work in and visit. In order to achieve this goal and to accelerate innovation, Smart Dublin has adopted a ‘Smart District’ approach, concentrating new technology pilot projects in targeted locations across Dublin county. The first smart district, Smart Docklands, came online in 2018 and since then a further four districts have been launched – Smart Sandyford, Smart DCU, Smart Balbriggan and Smart D8.


Collaboration is at the heart of the Smart Dublin model and a ‘Quadruple Helix Model of Open Innovation’ has been adopted to bring together government, industry, academia and citizens to work together to identify local challenges and co-create solutions. This diverse range of perspectives, experiences and knowledge can develop new and innovative approaches to addressing challenges and opportunities and deliver real value and positive outcomes for the local community.


The Smart Dublin district teams are engaged with local, national and international technology and research organisations which has enabled the delivery of cutting-edge pilot projects and innovative solutions for Dublin’s challenges.


Smart Dublin is governed by a steering committee consisting of representatives from each of the four Dublin local authorities.


For further information on the Smart Dublin initiative and to see examples of the projects undertaken visit:

We care about your feedback. Have your say.

Is this page useful?

Any concerns with your local area?

Report a problem with the Council